Possessed of Starlight

What does “having it all” mean to you? Is it attainable?

Well, slowly I am gathering all
The holes in the ultramarine night
But cannot yet last my hand on the idle
Light of Artemis. My forests hold
Every bough, every suggestion of peridot

Each sudden, subtle flow of the laden air
Cannot deter my breath, not when those veins
Cease their movement in the grasp of snow
And I am beginning to think that this
Will be my last season, sleeping under the nebulae
This cloak of emptiness rests lightly

Each autumn I gather myself on my hoard
Of the laughter of babies
When this airship comes homeward with you
Again from the Glassy clouds.
This universe is mine, fear not,
It does not betoken suffering.

It is my gift to give to you

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.