slumber road pantoum

A message rose into the way the road
Had shown a might more than I could bear.
If mercy was a tender hidden lode
I had no draught of coin to pay the fare.

He'd shone, a mite more than I could. Bare
the branches within autumns sleight of hand.
I had no draft of coin, To pay the fair
their due, I may freeze time's auger to stand

The branches within autumn slight the hand
that feeds them and then prays for gentle sleep
Their dew in May's frieze, time augurs. To stand
alone we are tolled, no meaning so deep.

That feeds them and then praise for gentle sleep
upon a plane of dreams in lissome code
A lone we are told "No meaning, sow deep
"a message." Rose into the way they rode.

One thought on “slumber road pantoum

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.